This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Summerfest Posters

My Projects

Version 1

Holding the title of “World’s Largest Music Festival,” Summerfest is an event for everyone as it has over 1,000 performances over the course of its eleven-day event. As someone who has taken part in the festival before and knows what the culture of this event is all about, I decided that it would be the perfect public event to create this poster for. This year, they are celebrating a momentous occasion as the festival is hitting its 50th year. In the first edition of this poster project, I used a variety of different elements from establishing a dominant focal point to using visual hierarchy and negative space. This first version of this poster can bring together music lovers of all types from families to single adults to see the excitement that is the 50th celebration of Summerfest 2017.

To grab the viewer’s attention, I decided to choose a vibrant focal point picture to place at the top of my works every time layout. This gives the viewer a sense of what the festival is like and sets the tone for the poster. I then put together five easily readable clusters of information through the use of negative space so the viewer can get a sense of what this celebration is about, when it is happening, who to look forward to seeing as a part of it, how to get involved and where it’s taking place. I place each of these clusters of information into a certain visual hierarchy to help the viewer distinguish the important elements of the event starting at the top left and working its way down to the bottom right. The predominant piece of information being a summary of what this year’s celebration is about which moves over to the event dates and down to the lineup of artists performing at the amphitheater. Then back over to the website where the viewer can buy tickets if they’re interested and finishing off the poster at the bottom with a logo for the event and the festival park’s address. In addition to stacking the information this way, I use different test styles to help emphasize certain pieces of information I want to stand out to the viewer to help with the visual hierarchy. Overall, I think that I put together a simple, but great works every time layout poster as it accomplishes my objective of showing what Summerfest through the tone of this poster and grabbing the attention of all music lovers alike.

Version 2

For my second version of this poster, I wanted to transform what this poster is trying to accomplish. Like I said before, Summerfest holds the title of “World’s Largest Music Festival” with over 1,000 performances over the course of eleven days so it pulls in massive crowds. Because of that, I wanted to appeal to music lovers who thrive in that environment and I think that young adults are that type. In order to accomplish this, I changed things up from the first design. While I still use certain elements from the first version like establishing a dominant focal point, this version turns things on its side and gets simplified. I think overall, this version of my Summerfest poster appeals to younger generations and shows the excitement of this year’s 50th celebration of Summerfest.

To grab the viewer’s attention, I decided to choose a photo that dominates the majority of the poster to showcase the energy of the crowds at Summerfest. In the photo itself, viewers can see not only how large the crowds are, but the types of fans that someone can find in the audience which in this photo specifically, shows a lot of young adults who are the people I am trying to appeal to. Unlike the last poster that focused more on the overall perspective of the whole festival, this photo focuses on the fans who are attending a show at one of the many stages at Summerfest. Then when I was creating this poster, I decided to simplify the information that I was trying to convey. The last poster had 5 clusters of information which included a snippet about the importance of this historical event. For this poster, I decided to just split the information into two halves, one that highlights the headlining acts performing at the event and the other about the information for the event such as dates, address of the park, where to buy tickets and the sponsor for the event. Simplifying the information allows for this poster to appeal to young adults who don’t want to read too much information to get a sense of the event. I do still use the element of visual hierarchy in this poster as well, I place the name of the event at the top and work my way down the right side of the poster with other important information pertaining to the event. Then the bottom of the poster and second half of the information are the names of headlining artists. I decided to highlight that information with its own section because these are the names that young adults recognize and pick out that draw them to buying tickets and attending the event. To finish off the poster, I keep the “You Ready?” logo to not only keep things consistent, but also help split up the two sections of information. Overall, I made some big changes from the first to the second version as my target audience is changed. Through simplifying the information and restructuring the poster itself, I think that this poster can appeal to young adults interested in seeing the listed headlining acts at Summerfest’s 50th celebration.

Version 3

For the third version of this poster, I decided to completely transform the design once again and change my desired audience. In this third version, I am appealing to a particular kind of audience, one that already knows about the event. With this poster, I am trying incorporate elements of two of the posters we discussed in the medium posts: The Over Nine Thousand poster designed by Daliah Ammar and the #YAB Sticker designed by Matthew Hoffman. I wanted to appeal to an audience that is already knowledgeable about the event like the Over Nine Thousand poster by providing a minimal amount of information about the event and I wanted to keep the text simple and straightforward like the #YAB Sticker.

Something I wanted to emphasize about this poster was to not rely on an image to grab the viewer’s attention. The first poster had a vibrant photo of the festival park at sunset which I used to appeal to all types of audiences as it showed the variety of things to do that the festival had to offer. The second poster was dominated by a photo of a large crowd at one of the many stages that showed not only the size of crowds these performances pull in, but the types of audience members that it does, young adults. Instead, this poster uses a black background and bright white text to grab the viewer’s attention. Unlike the other posters which had white backgrounds, the poster inverts those colors.

Instead of chucks of information like the first and second poster, this poster has three simple pieces of information: the title, the dates and the logo for the event. I decided to do this because of what we discussed in class about the Over Nine Thousand poster and how it appeals to a particular audience through a minimal amount of information and a unique styling of the title for the event. The purpose of this third version of the poster is not to be informational and get new people to buy tickets to the event, but a poster that gets returning fans of the event excited about it. They just need to know the dates of event as they would already know what it is about, where it and even who is performing at it.

The third element of the poster I wanted to emphasize was its style and shape. Similar to the #YAB Sticker, I wanted this poster to be simple in that it can get placed anywhere to spread its simple message. I did this buy designing the poster to be narrow and small in size. I also kept the font category to a geometric sans serif to allow it to be read easily. To finish off this poster, just like all the others, I kept the “You Ready?” logo in the bottom right corner to not only keep things consistent, but to tie the whole poster together with keeping the two columns of information balanced. Overall, I made some drastic changes compared to the last two versions of this poster. I changed my target audience once again by simplifying the information even more to just the basic necessities and redesigning the color and layout of the poster. I did this to appeal to audiences who already know about the event to get them excited about this year’s 50th celebration.

